The Portal Migration tool is for those firms who want to leverage the newest features OfficeTools has to offer with minimum impact to their day-to-day operations.
When activating the new Firm Portal all current portal users will immediately be re-routed to the new sub-domain for your firm. This will prevent users from uploading documents to the old portal while you configure the new portal. Learn more about the benefits and features of the Firm Portal here.
The tool will assist in uploading your clients to the new portal along with their documents. However, client invoices can not be migrated to the Firm Portal.
Once you activate the new Firm Portal follow the steps below to upload your clients and documents.
The 4 steps to migrate information to the Firm Portal
- Get Documents – This process will search for documents on your old portal that have not been downloaded into WorkSpace. This will ensure that all documents are accounted for even after you have turned on the Firm Portal.
- In the event that a Multi-Instance window appears, click here to learn more about this process.
- Sync Contact - This will help you migrate all existing users of the previous portal. The process will add them the new firm portal and a new welcome email will be sent to the user. When the user attempts to log in they will be rerouted to your new firm portal domain where they can continue to setup their new account.
- Contacts that were once on the previous portal that are currently hidden will not be included in this process.
- Portal passwords will auto expire after 90 days
- Users can leverage from MFA capabilities in their setup.
- Upload Documents - Once a user is uploaded to the new firm portal; you can begin uploading their documents.
Keep in mind that this tool will show any documents that have been upload to the portal in the past. This will also include documents that have been removed from the portal based on the 30-day retention policy.
The right panel allows for search criteria based on name and/or date range.
- Use the upload button to upload the document to the new portal.
- Use the clear filters button to clear the filters on the right panel.
Note: This tool will not show documents that have already been uploaded to the new firm portal.
- Delete Documents - This process will show all remaining documents on the previous portal that are ready to be deleted. If you migrated to the firm portal before this tool was available, you may utilize it to remove the documents from the previous portal.
You are at the end of the portal migration tool and its features.
Welcome to your new Firm Portal!