The Invoice export can be accessed from several different locations in the software depending on what you wish to export.
1. To export Invoices for all of your contacts go to: Setup>QuickBooks>Time & Billing>Export Invoices.
2. To export one or more Invoices for a single client, go to the Billing Tab, Invoice Section> highlight the invoices you want to export> right-click> select ‘Export to QuickBooks’ from the context menu.
The Invoice Export form is very basic and straight forward, containing a small set of filters and buttons.
The filters on this export form consist of ‘Hide Synchronized’, ‘Show Hidden’, and a search that allows you to find items by Name or Invoice Number. When using the search, you can filter to a single invoice (if you wish), check the Selected box, and clear the search. When the search clears, the invoices you selected while filtering will still be selected. So you can run multiple searches to select many invoices if you wish, and you will not have to run multiple export sessions.
The Invoice Export is one of the few areas where you have the ability to ‘Hide’ an item from the list. ‘Show Hidden’ is one of the filters available on this form, and it will show all invoices that you have previously hidden. The Hide feature is usually used when you have manually created an invoice in QuickBooks, so you do not wish to export another version of it from OfficeTools by CARET.
Once you have selected the invoices you want to export, click the ‘Export Selected’ button. As each invoice is processed and exported, the green progress bar on the bottom of the form will move, letting you know of the current progress of the sync. If there are any errors during the sync, the items that contain errors will be highlighted in a red/pink background. When selected, the red/pink rows will display an error message just below the data grid informing you why the export failed.
Please note: Once an Invoice has been exported, the 'Sync'd' property will be set to true, which will cause it to be hidden from view when Hide Synchronized is checked (This is set by default)
If you access the Invoice Export by selecting invoices on the billing tab, the ‘Hide Synchronized’ filter is disabled so it can show you exactly what you selected. So when using it like this, if you select an invoice that has already been exported, you can duplicate invoices inside of QuickBooks. So please take caution when exporting invoices that have already been pushed over to QuickBooks.